rest.

Some AMAZING and FANTASTIC news to share: I got up at 6:30 this morning! :)

Hehe. Yes, I am easily excited. Just think when I actually have some incredible news how excited I will be. ;)

Alas, when I woke up [albeit groggily] and stumbled out of my bedroom, I heard the pat-pat-pat of raindrops on my windowsill. The sound drew me closer, and I surveyed my surroundings. Very rainy, very wet. Hmm…

So! Today I’ve decided to take a rest day. It’s supposed to be my parcours day, and most of the exercise stations would have been too wet to work with. I guess I could do a few things here at my place [jumping jacks, side bends, sit-ups, etc.] but a rest day feels like the right thing to do. :)

That’s the thing about this time around – I’m not beating myself up when plans don’t work out or I have to rearrange things. I’m even flexible with my foods [as long as the days' calories don't go overboard]. Now, I’m not eating as many junk items or fast-food meals as I have in the past. [Actually, I've been really good about avoiding fast-food lately!] But I won’t mind allowing for pumpkin cake or cookie dough ice cream from time to time. My breakfast this morning was this, plus a banana:

Image

Why, yes, that IS pumpkin cake. :) It’s supposed to be this from What Megan’s Making, but mine turned out more cake-like! Hey, I’m not complaining…;)

And that was my last packet of Lady Grey…which is a favorite. I would get more at the grocery, but already have tons of teas and so I’m trying to use up my stash before replenishing favorites, sadly…

When it comes to meals/food, I’ve had something stuck in my head for the past couple months: a nutritionist at our Staff Development Day back in October said it’s good to aim for at least 3 food groups at each meal. Since then, I usually have a dairy item, fruit, and grain in the mornings for breakfast. Sometimes two pieces of whole grain toast with peanut butter [oh, yes!], strawberries, and a glass of milk. Other days might be yogurt and a banana with Kashi’s Honey Sunshine cereal. But then there are certain days like today, where I allow myself a little something special. :)

I’m also trying to work at not eating more than 5oz. of meat per day and maybe even some days going vegetarian! [Who knew I would ever say that...]

So overall, I’m happy with the way things are going. I have newfound focus and determination to succeed this time.

And I will.

:)

4 responses to “rest.

  1. Well done on avoiding the fast food! I also really like your positive outlook on your diet and your determination. This way, you will definitely succeed :) Keep up the good work!
    Love, Anne

Leave a Note

