self-control.

-3

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control… [Galatians 5:22-23]

I am a believer in Christ. That He is God’s son and died for our sins. He is amazing, and I hope you know Him too. But for this post, I want to focus on the fruit of the Spirit. Meaning this: if you know God, walk with Jesus, and have the Holy Spirit guiding you, your life will naturally express “fruit,” or many good things. Those good things are listed in the verse above.

[Not to say you are automatically made up of these qualities and only these qualities once you become a Christian. We’re human and make mistakes. On that topic, let me just say I am grateful God is big on mercy and forgiveness and redemption!]

Getting to my point though, in the past, I always felt that I did a pretty good job with exhibiting the fruit of the Spirit in my life. I don’t mean to be conceited, but I measure myself against this list of qualities, and it seems like most are present in who I am and what I do.

All but one.

Self-control.

I could never get a handle on what to do in order to make this characteristic grow within me. And now I’m realizing something quite simple, which applies to each of these qualities: it’s a never-ending choice.

With this weight-loss journey I’m on [which began in October], I find myself capable of exerting self-control when it comes to food and laziness because I finally recognize the danger of giving your desires over to those things. You become unhealthy and lifeless.

Yes, there are things helping me along in the day-to-day matters [for example, counting calories on my iPhone through MyFitnessPal], but ultimately, to continue making this huge change, I have to make healthy choices every day…for life.

Now that I see the progress I’m making, and that it IS possible to lose all that weight, I want to exercise self-control more and more. And I am. :)

To date, I have lost 21lbs. And I hope to lose 9 more by New Year’s. By October 2013, I hope to have lost about 110lbs.

I know I will.

So thanks for coming along this journey with me. Progress photos coming soon!

Leave a Note

