moving more.

The first few weeks of this lifestyle overhaul I just focused on counting calories. [I must say it’s incredibly easy with the MyFitnessPal app. I had tried to count calories before by journaling everything by hand, but that only lasted a month or so. Now…I’m the type that prefers old-fashioned methods over new technology — no eBooks for me! — but I’m warming up to my iPhone’s capabilities in a big way. I’ve even started using the calendar on my phone more than my daily planner!]

Anyways. Not only do I want to lose weight, but I want to tone my body and increase muscle. And to do that, I’ve got to move more. What I’ve decided to do for now is follow a 5K running plan [for those who hate running] courtesy of Runs for Cookies:

I’ll be doing this plan through the end of January and hope to regularly run 3 miles at a time [3 times per week] by then! So Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday mornings will be devoted to this schedule. And in order to throw in a bit of strength training, I’ll be doing a parcours trail at a nearby park on Monday, Wednesday and Friday of each week as well. This is the start of the trail:

Image

Of course, my timing wasn’t the best as a few mornings last week were pretty darn cold! However, it’s been pretty mild lately. Makes me wonder if it’ll once again be a mild winter…I hope not! Can’t wait to get some serious snow. :)

So there you have it. I’m simply making better food choices [to make the most of my allotted calories] and moving more.

Tomorrow is my weigh-in day [I’m keeping track on Wednesdays, just like Katie from Runs for Cookies, or maybe I’ll say RFC as I reference her blog a lot!], and I will share those promised progress pictures then. :)

Good night!

7 responses to “moving more.

  1. Pingback: week 2. | Day by Day·

  2. You are truly amazing Joanna :) I know you can do this ! Looking at this has inspired me, because Andy and I are having a contest to see who can lose ten pounds first. Please be careful on you’re runs and I will be praying for you !

Leave a Note

