slow and steady [wednesday weigh-in].

Again and again, I feel like God’s had to teach me the lesson of doing something fast [which most definitely does not last!] vs. doing something slow and steady, which does pay off but takes time and effort and patience. This is not what our society’s used to; we want instant results! But I have realized [and hopefully will remember in the future] that good things come to those who are willing to wait [and work] for it.

It’s like when you make a cup of tea:

Image

You’ve got to set the kettle of water to boil and wait. Then you pour the hot water into your mug over the teabag and wait. [This is the part where I get impatient and take it out after a couple minutes. I don’t usually like my tea strong.] But this time I waited a bit longer…and even let the teabag steep while I enjoyed my tea…and it was delicious! And of course, loose tea is even better!

Anyway! On to the weekly report: I weighed in this morning, and since last time, I have lost 0.6lb. My total weight loss is now 41.2lbs.

A good thing since last week’s gain is not a trend I’d like to repeat! I’m glad to see the scale moving back down. It’s just going to take more time than I’d like…alas, that seems to be the case with a lot of things in my life though. I’ve always considered myself a late-bloomer. I did well in elementary/middle/high school and enjoyed college, but I was pretty mixed up inside concerning who I was and what I wanted to do with my life.

[Have you ever read The Mixed-Up Chameleon by Eric Carle? That would have been me!]

It wasn’t until my mid-20s or so that I pretty much hit rock bottom – in work, school, relationships – and recognized that my identity wasn’t found in what I did, how well I tested, or who I was with. It all comes back to the Lord and who He’s created me to be. Having a relationship with Jesus has taught me that I am who I am; there’s no need for frills and whistles, accomplishments or great accolades. I’m just me. He loves me for me. Even when I look silly as I enjoy my cucumber:

Image

[My mom gave me a couple cucumbers this past weekend, and I just had to send her a picture of me having one with my lunch – it was so good, I ate it as is!]

In my email today, I received the first of a week of daily devotions from author Renee Swope called the “Doubt Diet.” I’ve seen these before actually as she didn’t mean to activate it again, but then she thought maybe it was a God thing…and I think she’s right. Doubt is something I continually grapple with in my life, and there’s nothing better to be pointed toward God’s word and what He says about who we are. If you’d like to check it out and possibly sign up, click here.

Ok! Time to get a move on for work. Have a wonderful Wednesday, friends!

PS, I’ll be heading to Arizona this Friday for a weekend mission trip – please pray for safe travels and for God to be glorified and blessed! Thanks!

2 responses to “slow and steady [wednesday weigh-in].

  1. When I left the lib, you gave me a little card that says “To climb steep hills requires slow pace at first”. It’s pinned in my office.

    And here’s where in person I would start belting out some Miley. IT’S THE CLIIIIIMBBB! But really. <3 you :)

    • Thank you so much, friend! It means a lot that you have that card posted in your office. :) And yes, I just listened to The Climb – that song is a guilty pleasure of mine! ;)

Leave a Note

