week 40.

Crazy to think it’s been 40 weeks since my weight-loss journey’s started!

I must admit, I was hoping to be further along than I am, but instead of focusing on the negative I will choose to look at the positive and continue onward!

This past Wednesday, I weighed in at 188.0lbs. A total loss of 57lbs [working my way back up to 60 which I had reached recently for a brief amount of time!].

And 57lbs is still pretty awesome. ;)

I also realized a couple stats:

  • In the first 20 weeks, I lost about 38lbs.
  • The second 20 weeks, I lost about 17lbs.

Interesting how the rate of weight loss dropped to half. I’ve read how it’s harder to lose weight as you get closer to your goal. Part of that, I think, is simply getting tired of the same old, same old. I started relying on familiar foods so that I didn’t have to track calories…I could just keep count in my head…but then I stopped counting altogether. And didn’t run as much…

So all of that is why my rate’s slowed. And along with getting lax in counting calories and running, I let myself get distracted by life’s happenings. I’m noticing more and more how easy it is to slip into old habits.

But! Recognizing this trend is the first step to making changes! This new week ahead presents opportunity to refocus my goals. My plan is as follows:

  1. Spend time with the Lord and enjoy my life as it is NOW.
  2. Make better food choices and return to counting calories.
  3. Run/train for half-marathon coming up on Sept. 21st!

Also, I’ve joined a gym that’s not even five minutes from my workplace. [Ah, the benefit of working in the midst of several businesses and restaurants!] It’s a Planet Fitness gym, which simply has cardio and strength training equipment – and the option to tan, but I don’t see myself making use of that – and also a personal trainer who can help you design your own workout program according to your specific goals. It fits within my budget and so I thought I’d give it a go.

I still plan on running in the mornings. Then, after work, I’ll stop by and do a warm-up jog and make use of the strength training resources.

I’ll keep you posted on how that goes. :)

Oh! Not only am I doing the Cincinnati Color Run next month, but I’ve also signed up for a really local 5K which supports the Boys & Girls Club here in town. Looking forward to enjoying these two fun runs and glad they’ll help me stay on track for the half-marathon!

And because I wanted to include a picture with this post, here’s my fridge as of today! Cleaned and stocked:

Image

Yes, I did pick up some Coke today, but I am fully intending on practicing self-control. So here goes nothing!

:)

2 responses to “week 40.

Leave a Note

